Help Wanted: Estonian model for Argos Translate

Estonian is currently the most requested language by upvotes on my language requests Github poll:

Toolkit for training/converting LibreTranslate compatible language models :steam_locomotive:
1 Like

I can train Estonian models, but unfortunately not before the end of February 2024, as GPUs are scheduled until then…

2 Likes

I started training this model taking into account all the developments, but there is one question:
I collected about 30M pairs of sentences, it seems that this will be enough to train a high-quality model with 159M parameters.
If the size of the model is not a problem, then in my opinion, in this case, the quality justifies such a size. However, i can try to optimize up to 86M parameters with a loss of quality.

1 Like

This should be plenty of data. I think the minimum amount of data needed for a usable translation model is about 2M parallel sentences.

Larger or smaller models are fine, whichever you thinks works best for that language,

1 Like

Thanks for the answer! Then I’ll focus here on my model 159M, it showed better performance than the Transformer Big. A little later I will try to compile and share my observations on the influence of different parameters on the performance of models with references to many other studies.

1 Like

I’m glad to introduce translation models to the community.
The models have a Transformer DEEP architecture with 159M parameters, which is 30% smaller than the Transformer BIG and almost 2 times faster in inference (according to my observations, comparable to the Transformer Base, as the decoder part has comparable dimensions).

EN_ET

Model BLEU COMET-22 Note
LT1.0 29,1 0,9017
GoogleTranslate 31 0,918
eng-est/opus…2022-03-13 28,30 -
facebook/m2m100_1.2B 24,5 -

ET_EN

Model BLEU COMET-22 Note
LT1.0 38.7 0,8903
GoogleTranslate 42,4 0,8997
est-eng/opus…2022-03-09 38,6 -
facebook/nllb-200-3.3B 35,7 -

To train the models, the back translation method was also used: