Adding a non supported language

What data do I need to add a new language? I saw this tutorial but it does not explain how to add/train a non-supported language (ISO 639-2) on LibreTranslate. I’m a beginner, sorry if I don’t understand it that much.

2 Likes

To add a new language pair you need to collect data (I normally use Opus), and add the data to data-index.json in the Argos Train repo. Then you need to train an Argos Translate model and install it on your LibreTranslate instance.

Docs

I’ve added these details in the README too.

1 Like

I’m trying, but having some trouble getting the various instructions put together to get to the end.

I was trying to follow this - Neural Machine Translation : Training OpenNMT on Swedish-English corpus. | by Muhammad Saad Ali | Medium - using a da->en TMX of the Europarl document from Opus.

(Bloom County anyone…? :wink: )

With some fixes to their example, I have a directory now like this:

+ corpus_da-en
    - src-test.txt
    - src-train.txt
    - src-val.txt
    - tgt-test.txt
    - tgt-train.txt
    - tgt-val.txt

The next step says to run this preprocess.py but I don’t see that file in the OpenNMT-py directory. There is train.py and translate.py

Then the train.py example has this models/baseline but there also is no models directory in the OpentNMT-py directory.

So I’m a little stuck in the middle of how to get from europarl_da-en.tmx to a data-europarl-da_en.argosdata

Hmm, I may have to setup a linux distro on my PC… Looks like the OpenNMT and argostrain need (or prefer?) GPU to run… Have been doing the above so far on a digital ocean droplet.

1 Like

To create a .argosdata package from Opus data you want to download data in the Moses format.